Showing posts with label A day in our lives. Show all posts
Showing posts with label A day in our lives. Show all posts

Thursday, August 20, 2015

Oh heeeeeey!

Holy hell, where has the summer gone!  I cannot believe it's almost the end of August and my kids go back to school in two weeks.  I honestly have NEVER seen a summer go by this quickly before!  So lemme catch you up on the last two months.  I figure I'll go back over my random thoughts from my last blog post because it seems like the best place to go from.

- Divorce
Well, we were FINALLY able to officially file.  OMG what a frigging ordeal.  But J got his parenting classes done, then I had to wait a month for mine because they were all booked up in July.  I completed mine the second week of August and I drove my little ass (HA! Little!) right back to the courthouse to get those papers filed.  Aaaaand done!   We should have our court date in a week or so and it should be within a couple of months since we're filing amicably.   Yes, folks, we are still getting along just fine.  We've been to a couple of functions together and as ridiculous as it sounds, our friends have a harder time with it than we do.  Yes, seriously.  We're both like really?  Get over it.  We're getting divorced but if we're okay with it, then you need to be too.  Oy.

- Change
I'm still excited but I'm getting antsy.  I'm ready to just get this party, okay, maybe party isn't the best choice of words here...........next chapter shall we say?  I'm ready to get this next chapter started.  I want to be settled down and established with the kids.  I can't do that yet though and I'm getting frustrated.  Let's just say patience isn't one of my strongest virtues.

- House
The house hasn't sold yet.  Ugh.   The feedback is completely consistent:  "We looooooove the house........we just don't like the other house being so close."   Well, I knew that was going to be an issue.  We dropped the price down $10K, which I was totally okay with because I had the realtor price high anyway, and we're still getting plenty of activity on it.  Just have to wait for the right buyer.  I'm keeping my fingers crossed that it's sooner rather than later.  It's very hard to look for a new place when you don't know how long it will be before you can move.  Ugh.

- Couch surfing
I am PROUD to say I am NO LONGER couch surfing!  Shortly after my last update that stopped.  The kids have been staying with J because that is going to be their regular routine so we started that.  I LOVE it!  I get to stay at home, in my own bed, with my own things.   I can sleep comfortably.  I have food.  I don't have to worry about coming and going.  I can do laundry for the house, I can do whatever I want.  No more packing a bag and moving out.  It is bliss.  So happy!!

- Dating
I am still not quite ready for dating but I did join a dating website.  Well, three technically.  One I deleted shortly after b/c it was a bunch of YOUNG 20-somethings consistently chatting me up and I just wasn't interested.  The second wasn't too bad but a couple of guys were being really inappropriate and I just got sick of it so I deleted there too.   The third I'm still deciding what to do.  J has joined a bunch of sites.  It's hysterical and I give him SUCH a hard time b/c he was putting his status as "divorced" LONG before I even filed the papers.  My status is still "separated" on my profile.  Men.  I haven't met ANYONE yet and I'm not sure when I will.  I'm just taking a peek and seeing how this all works I guess.

- The kids
They are still doing SO well.  They really are the lights of my life, without a doubt.
Ryan has officially started football and he is doing so well.  It's a huge commitment though and he is still adjusting.  The first few days were rough because it was all "conditioning" which is a really hard workout for hours on end to see who is going to hack it.  Of course he did. My tough little man.  He's going to have a great season.

Aidan and Erynn have both signed up for Soccer again this year.  They start next week.  All I have right now is what teams they are playing for.  Still waiting for emails from the coaches. We're going to be busy as hell but I wouldn't have it any other way.  
As long as my kiddos are happy, I am happy!

Wednesday, June 17, 2015

Random Thoughts

Things that have been running through my head lately with all the new things and changes going on:

- filing for divorce is easier when you are NOT doing it amicably.
         WTF is up with that?!?!   Keep a good "working" relationship with your soon-to-be-ex-husband and get completely f*cked over by the system.  Holy mother of God this has been nothing but a pain in the ass.  I'm over it.  My divorce is currently sitting on an effin shelf right now because J and I both have to complete a "parenting course" before they will give us our court date.  I'm sorry, a what the WHAT now?!   I have to take a parenting course to tell me how to be a "good" ex during the divorce and to not talk badly about my ex.   Um, did you see the JOINTLY filing paper I submitted?  Our friends have said we should be the "poster children for divorce" because we are getting along better now than we have in over two years.  (yeah, that happened.....thanks guys LOL)   This is some serious bs I tell ya.  So, needless to say I registered us as fast as I could.  He's going this week and next week and I go the first week of July.  Christ on a cracker.  THEN when we get the completed certificates I can get the damn court date.  Well thankyouverymuch.  Seriously.  If I had gone and filed w out him - I would have my court date already.  Granted it would be over a year from now (my friends court date is FOURTEEN months away) so I guess I shouldn't complain, but still.  ANNOYING.

- I'm actually excited for all of the changes coming up.
          Not scared at all.  Which is amazing because this is some pretty MAJOR stuff happening.  I'm 38 years old, with 3 children and I'm starting all over again.  Who the hell would have thought it?!   Um, not I.  But it's happening.....and I can't wait to just get right down to it.  New house, new life.  Me and the three loves of my life.  My world revolves around these three little people.  Nothing else matters.  Everything I've been through in the last 7 yrs of my marriage no longer matters.  I get to wipe the slate clean.  I don't have to put up with anyone else's bullshit anymore.  I don't have to bury anything anymore.  Ignore.  Cry because I'm so unhappy.  Hide my feelings.  Pretend it's all okay.  Put on a front for people.  It's all over.  No regrets, just lessons learned.  

- I can't wait to find a new place to live.
          I get to downsize.  I get to have a house that is just for me and my littles.  Redecorate.  Set up how I want.  Run it the way I want.  Do what I want.  Let the kids set up the way they want - they are older now, they can have input.  We can do it together....that will help them feel like they are part of it.  It's exciting!  Change isn't always a bad thing.  I'm looking forward to it.

- Friends / who is there.
          It's so funny to me who has been there vs who hasn't been there through everything that has been going on over the last 6 mon or so.  I get text messages on the daily from people I would never expect from............keeping in touch, checking in on me, making sure I have plans when it's not my weekend or night with the kids, etc.  Then there are people I  never hear from that I would hear from daily before all of this.  Not complaining, just stating a fact.  It's okay, we're all busy.  It's just interesting who is there when you go through something major.  Happened last year when I had my surgery too.  

-  I am FAR too old for couch surfing.
          During this fabulous (insert heavy sarcasm here) time of transition I have been staying with my brother every other weekend.  OMG it's hell on earth.  I sleep on a couch and I am WAY too f*cking old for that shit.  I get NO sleep.  It's so uncomfortable.  I have to ask permission to come/go b/c they won't give me my own set of keys to the apartment.  (don't even get me started on that)   There is no food in the house so if they are gone I'm trapped for the day with nothing to eat.  If I leave, I'll be locked out until one of them comes home.  It sucks.  I've resorted to staying at a hotel on some nights just to avoid it.  That's the plan for my next weekend - I'm staying at a hotel on the Friday night b/c my last weekend was just SO bad.  They aren't getting along to boot so that just adds to the already shitty situation.  I can't wait to move on with the house so I can get my own place w the kids and I won't have to move out of my house every other weekend.  I can just STAY home.  

- Dating.
          Now, I will say this.........this TERRIFIES me.  OMG I can't even lie.  Thinking about it scares the ever loving shit out of me.  Let's be perfectly honest here.  I have been 100%, absolutely, completely fucked over by every.single.guy in my life starting with my own father.  How's that for a track record???  So putting myself out there and opening up to someone again?   Sooooo not something I'm going to want to do.   BUT, and this is where I'm sure people will judge and have opinions............b/c it's human nature and we ALL do it.............(I don't care what you say, you're doing it right now)........my marriage has been over for a LONG time.  We both admit that.   So I'm going to want to start dating.  Yep, it's going to happen.  I deserve to be happy too.  My kids make me happy, absolutely.  But when I'm not with them I'm going to want to date.  I will need adult interaction with more than just my girlfriends.  Gasp!  Yes, I said it.  It's going to happen.  But just because I said it doesn't mean it doesn't scare me.  I'm damaged goods.  How do I learn to trust again??

- Tattoo.
           Truly random.  I cannot WAIT for my next tattoo.  I've already picked it out already know where it's going.  I'm getting a lotus flower design on the left side of my body.  Lotus flowers stand for rebirth, starting over, overcoming hard times, etc.  Perfect for this next stage of my life.  I've thought about this next tattoo for months and I can't wait to get it done!

Think that's about all I've got for now.  Truly random thoughts for a Wednesday afternoon.

Wednesday, May 27, 2015

Next steps............let's keep it moving

In true Christine fashion, I have to have a plan.  I know you will be shocked by this.  (in true Christine fashion that statement is loaded with sarcasm.)  Once I make up my mind, I need to get my ducks in a row, figure out what I'm doing and just get on with it.  That's just how I am.  I'm not one to sit and wallow......that's just not my style.  Never has been.  I figure it out, I accept, I move on with a plan.

So that is what I have done.  I told John I want a divorce.  We talked it out and I will honestly say it's probably the best talk we've had since we split up.  We're both on the same page, must stay amicable, want to remain friends, co-parent the kids.  Both on same page about selling the house.  I have a realtor coming on Friday to look at it.  I told him he should keep the boat - his Dad bought it for him, I've never had anything to do with it and I would never try to take it.  He'll buy me out of the camper - I can't tow it anyway and we still want the kids to be able to go camping.  He said he'll still tow it for me on my weekends with the kids.  I said we'll play it by ear.  I'm fine going back to tent camping.  I told him that right now he's not thinking about it but eventually he'll find someone he wants to date, be with, whatever and I'm not so sure she'll be cool with him towing a camper for his ex-wife all the time.  He, of course, didn't want to hear it but I told him he needs to be realistic.  He's too young to be alone for the rest of his life.  

I'll look for another house/condo/townhouse to live with the kids.  3 bedroom is all I care about.  I don't need a huge house, just something big enough for the four of us.  I told him  no offense, I just don't want to live near where we are now.  He said I don't blame you one bit.  (not with him, his Dad and his sister living right there.......noooooo thank you)  So hopefully I can find something that works for us that I love.  And on the other side of town.  I know everything happens for a reason so I'll just go with it.  I was talking to a friend about my house and he is convinced it's going to sell quickly.  I'm not so sure but I'm just going to let it all play out however it's meant to.  

We're getting separate bank accounts, separate cell phones, separate insurance.  House and my car will be on mine......truck and camper will be on his.  Win/win, we'll both still get multi-package discounts.  John will still give me money towards house bills every month until the house sells. 

I'm filing as soon as I have the money to give to the court.  We haven't told the kids yet.  I don't think we need to rush to do that.  But, when we do, they will at least be used to what is going on.  Things will pretty much stay the same other than us moving.  And they will be a little used to that idea because John and I had already talked about selling the house and moving last year when some other stuff had come up.  Other than that, things won't change much from what they are now.  He will still come in the morning........he'll just take them back to his house rather than stay wherever I'm living.  I'll come pick them up in the afternoon.  Schedule will stay the same........dinner w him on Tuesdays and every other weekend.  We'll still be in Abington so they'll still go to same schools, have same friends.   So the separation has prepared them a bit.  

I think that's about it.  I could be forgetting things.  I won't pretend this isn't overwhelming.  It is.  But I feel like if I have things planned out, steps laid out, I can just push through it.  I know we're going to be okay.  But the next few months, until we all get settled into our new lives...........that's going to be interesting.......to say the least.  

Tuesday, May 12, 2015

Still kicking...

Some days I wish I could kick something honestly.

I'm still here.  Surviving.  Day by day, I'm doing the damn thing.  Some days are better than others. But I'm pretty sure that's to be expected.  I honestly wish I could just fast forward the next 6 months or even the next year.  I want to get past the hard stuff.  I want to be settled again into whatever the next chapter is.  

I'm angry.  I'm bitter.  I'm over the past 7 years of my life.  I'm resentful.  But only in small fractions.  The other parts of me, the rational parts, sit back and say well, this was all meant to be.  Now let's just deal with this shit and figure out your next move.  Let's just get this over with.  That's just how I am.   Don't get me wrong.  I'm not okay with how things have ended up - this is the last 15 years of my life I'm talking about here.  This was supposed to be my forever.  It hurts, more than I have ever hurt before. (aside from my Mom's passing)  But there isn't any coming back from this for me.  Every time J tries to have a conversation with me he just ends up admitting one more thing that makes me realize everything I have fought for, tried for, worked my ass off to fix was for no damn reason at all.   

Last week he came over to talk while I was working from home.  The kids were at school.   He told me that he hadn't bothered trying at all because he was hoping "this would all just blow over."   Even while we were in marriage counseling.  So, wait, what?!   I wasted the last 16 months of my life pouring my heart out, trying to fix what was broken while you just sat on your ass waiting for all of it to go away?!   Are you effing kidding me right now?   And you admit this OUT LOUD to me?  Again, are you effing kidding me?   Yet you wonder why I tell you that I can't do this anymore, that I have nothing left in me.  He says he has been in a dark place and didn't know how to get out of it.....that he still doesn't.  I can't fix that for him.  He has to do that on his own.  He checked out of this marriage seven years ago, I've been trying to get him back ever since.  Nothing has worked.  No matter how hard I tried.   That starts to wear on a person.  It started to make me think less of myself.  I've changed and I've started to look at myself differently.  So now not only has my marriage fallen apart but I've started to see myself as having less value.  Now *I* need to work on myself as well.  He goes on to say I'm the only stable thing in his life.  Not I love you, I can't live without you, etc.  Just I'm stable.  Ummmm, I'm not a kitchen chair.  That's not why you want to be with someone.  He says he wants to date me again, show me that he can be a good husband, the partner I need, the man he used to be.   I told him I don't WANT to date him, that I don't know WHO that man is anymore, that I don't remember him at all, that I have no faith in him, I don't trust him anymore.  That's the truth.  I told him that if I was really all that to him then we never would have ended up where we are.  I told him that what's done is done.  That it's not okay but that maybe we really just weren't meant to be each others forever.  Because we wouldn't have come to this if we were.  I said I've given you 1,000 chances - there are only so many times I can be kicked away before I won't come back again.  That's where I'm at.  You've finally kicked me away for the last time.  I don't want to date you, I don't want you to chase me, I don't want anything from you.  I deserve better than this, our kids deserve to grow up in better than this because I REFUSE to let them grow up seeing a marriage like this.   I will not let this be their example.  This is not what they should grow up and aspire to have.    

I like to know that I'm appreciated.  I can't remember the last time I felt that.  Showing me I'm appreciated isn't a hard thing to do.  I am not a big lover of "things" at all.  My "love language" probably isn't like most people's.  I'm not a materialistic person.  You could just say thank you or hey, I noticed this and that's enough for me.  But I will say on my birthday, a card would be nice.  Mother's Day and Christmas too.  I don't think that's asking too much.   But ask me the last time that happened over the past 15 years.  I can count on one hand.  It got to the point where the kids started asking why Mommy didn't have any presents to open up on Christmas.   Or how come everyone else had a stocking full of things EXCEPT for Mommy.   (well, that's b/c mommy is the one who does all of the stockings loves - and she isn't doing her own)  That just became par for the course.  He brought that up too.   I countered right back - I was not a priority for you John.  You made a choice to not do anything for me when it came down to holidays or special occasions.  There is no other way about it.  You had the option, you chose not to do anything.  End of.  That's just all there is to it.  No if's, and's or but's.  There is no point in trying to argue.  I did not say this in anger, malice or with ill will.  I just said with acceptance because what's done is done and there is no changing it.   Even in the 16 months after the whole "indiscretion" (as our therapist calls it) he STILL chose not to take advantage of special occasions to show me he was making an effort to show me that I was important.  Nothing changed.  But, it is what it is.  Again, everything happens for a reason.  

Anyway.  At the end of the day, I believe what's meant to be will be.   I always have, I always will.   We may not know why things happen the way that they do but I have always believed that they are meant to happen they way they do.   So, I will go through this like I'm supposed to and I will be okay.   My top priority is my three babies.  They are all that matter to me right now.  As long as they are okay, I am going to be okay.    

Monday, March 16, 2015

File under: S*%t I never thought would happen to me

I've decided 2015 is absolutely out to get me.  Just not in the cards to be my year I guess.  But, silver linings, I guess it can only get better from here.  

So, I'll just put it out there.  I am officially separated.  I suppose that will come as a gut punch to those of you who know me / my family.  If you and I aren't very close you'll be shocked.  If you and I are very close you already know.  If you and I are extremely close you'll say it's about time I admitted this shit out there because I've been holding on to it for so damn long.  

The cliffsnotes version is that J and I have been in marriage counseling for over 14 months now.  I found out on my birthday (yes, isn't that a bitch?!) back in 2013 that something was up.   He got a text message that made me feel...........off.  Or actually, his response to said text did.  I had never ONCE in our entire relationship checked his phone.  Never thought I needed to.  But that day it went off in front of me, literally directly in front of me, so I glanced at it.   There wasn't a name that came up - it was more a code.  It said "Pain in the Ass" and I was like ummmmm ok.   But it was his reaction.  He took the phone off the counter and put it right in his pocket.   Huh??  I let it go.  But a couple of weeks later I did check his phone.   And I saw an exchange that made me sick to my stomach.   I didn't say anything at that point because it was the day before Aidan and Erynn's birthday party and I needed to hold my shit together.  I just emailed myself the phone number to my work email.   Come Monday morning I got the phone number and I started going through our cell phone bills.   Well, their "relationship" went back for two frigging years.   Awesome.  Texts at all hours of the day and night.  Phone calls.  Weekends, all day long, you name it - there it was - in black in white right in front of my face.  I was devastated.  I didn't know what to do with myself so I sat on it for a few more days.  Lost sleep, lost weight.  I finally confronted him again and he said she stole his number off of the roster and was a pain in the ass.  I said okay, well, now tell me the truth because I've gone through our phone bills and you have been carrying on with her for over TWO YEARS.   He just looked at me like a deer in headlights.  I burst into tears.   He swears nothing happened between them but he also refused to tell me what they talked about.  Says he doesn't remember.  Says he never told me about her because he didn't think I'd be okay with him having a female friend.  Bullshit.  That he didn't know how to have a female friend.  Bullshit. He's held onto this "story" for the last 14mon.   Meanwhile, I have held on to the disappointment, the sadness, the heartbreak and finally the anger.  To the point where I can't even look at him anymore.   I only told a VERY small amount of people what was going on months and months after the fact.  He walked around in the same world he had always lived in.   I slowly but surely started resenting him until I told my therapist I just couldn't do it anymore and that I really thought I was done.  That I needed him to move out.   She asked me WHY I was holding on to it and why I wasn't telling people.  That *I* wasn't the one who did anything wrong here and that I needed the support from my friends to help me.  She was right.  She asked if I thought I would be willing to be separated before I just called it quits.  I said ok.  So I talked to John the next day and told him that I think we should be separated.  I told him that I was so sick of living like this, that I was crying more often than not, that I was heartbroken and miserable.  I had walked around like a dick thinking we had a pretty good marriage while he had been carrying on for 2/3 of our daughter's life with some other woman.  

So, he's been out for two weeks now.  The first weekend was his weekend because I had a trip booked to Newport with my girlfriend for her birthday.  It was planned months ago.  It didn't feel any different for me because I was away.   This past weekend I had the kids.  He didn't even call ONCE to talk to them.  I called 2x per day EVERY day when I was gone.  I couldn't go one day without speaking to my kids.  Next weekend is my first weekend without the kids where I'll have to pack and leave my house.  I will not disrupt my kids so I'll be the one to leave.  They need to be kept in as regular a situation as possible.  I'll be moving in with my brother every other weekend.  They have a two bedroom apartment and they say they are very happy to be able to help me out after all the times I've helped them.  I'm happy I'll have someplace stable to go and I'll be with family.

Now comes the tough stuff.  I need to be really honest with myself and how I want to live because I REFUSE to be unhappy for the rest of my life.  I have been unhappy for far too damn long and I honestly don't know if I can get back to happy again here.  Things haven't been right for so long.  That's a tough frigging pill to swallow.  For right now I'm taking the time I need away and I'm going to do what I need to do.  The most important thing is that my kids and I are happy - this life is far too short.  End of.  

Wednesday, January 21, 2015

Well Happy F*cking New Year

I just have to say - if 2015 is going to suck in whole as it did for the first 5 days - I'm running away from home and I'm never coming back.

Well hi there, nice to see you again.  Yup, as usual I've fallen off the blogging tree but, I'm back.  Let's play catch up.

Haven't done the go without electronics for a day yet.  But I'm still on the cutting back plan.  Works for me.  While I've been gone Erynn turned 7 years old, Christmas came and went (the kids said it was their best ever.......good call on cutting back this year.......GO ME!  *pats self on back*) and Aidan turned 10.  Holy hell, how do I have a 10 year old?!   I have to say and I'm NOT tooting my horn here but.....I look at pics of myself back then and pics of myself now and I think I'm aging pretty damn well.   I give full credit to my kids for keeping me young.  Yup, it's all on them.  

Now.  Let's get down to why 2015 can go suck a giant f*cking goose egg.   Yup, it's sooooo good that I'm dropping F bombs like dollar bills.  This year really has been a shite one so far.   So, NYE my sister and her girlfriend came to visit.  Lucky me, I get to start my birthday by getting up at the crack to go pick them up at the airport.  Keep in mind, this is her FIRST visit home since "Emailgate 2012."  Or was it 2011?  I'm not even sure anymore but she hasn't been back to my house since.  Technically she still wasn't - I made her stay at a hotel because I'm only SO stupid you know.  Give me some credit, won't you?   I'm going to cliffnotes the hell that was most of the day.....carting her around to car rental place that didn't work out, back to my house, to hotel, back to another car rental.   You get the drift.  Typical drama that always occur when Cheryl comes to visit.   Now, mind you, we have 40-50 people coming over THAT NIGHT for our Annual NYE bash.   No big deal, of course we can cater to you Cheryl.  Absolutely.  *insert sarcasm*

She finally gets herself into hotel and promises she's going to be back to help me get ready for party.  Well, we know her and of course it ends up being bullshit.  She shows back up at 9:30p saying she overslept.  I'm sorry, you what now?   What-ever.   They stay for AN HOUR and go back to hotel.   GTFO of here, I can't even take it anymore.   Fine.  We have a great night anyway and honestly, I'm much better off without her drama.  Yay for DAY ONE of her visit.  

New Year's Day.  I finally get around to opening the few birthday cards that I got the night before.  One of my girlfriends gives me scratch tickets and HOLY SHIT, I hit for $1,000.   OMG what?!?!   I immediately put it into my work bag (which is on counter, next to fridge - keep that in mind) and ask John if he can cash it the next day.   (In MA, anything $1K or more has to be brought to the lottery office and cashed.)  Yup, no problem.   Next day, I go to get ticket.  It's GONE.   Um, wtduece?!   We rip the entire house apart.  Like APART.   Take in trash from NYE, go through everything possible.  My first thought is my sister b/c she is a klepto but she wasn't even at my house on New Year's Day at all so it couldn't have been her.   Or so I thought.  I'm going to cut this way back because I'm getting more and more pissed the more I rehash.   Flash forward to Saturday.  My brother comes by because he wants to talk.  Says he's having a crap couple of days - I say me too.  Tell him about lost ticket.  He asks what kind it was, I say I have no idea BUT I have a picture of it.  (Yup, flash back to Aidan telling me about the picture thing......I'm always taking pictures!  LOL)  He asks to see it - of course.   I show him.   He goes DEAD WHITE in the face and tells me he cashed it for Cheryl THE DAY BEFORE.    WHAT THE F*CK ARE YOU TALKING ABOUT?!   I said there's no way - she didn't know I got it and she wasn't even here.   He says she WAS here - when you guys were gone (we were gone for TWO hours!  TWO!!!!) she had me meet her here because she had to pick up some food she left here and then we went out to lunch.   OMG.   So, yes, you are reading this right.  My OWN SISTER broke into my house, went through my purse, found the scratch ticket and robbed me.   She then had our BROTHER cash the ticket for her.  (still not sure why she didn't just cash it herself.   won't ever know.)    I say no problem, I'll call her right now and get the money back.  She can't have spent it all.  Well, here is where KARMA got her.   My brother owed MA State Taxes from last year.  They were garnishing his paychecks but, since he had this lottery ticket, they took the rest of the money right then and there on the spot.   So the total he got out of the $1K was $274.  I am devastated.  I take a minute but then I call my sister and rip her a new one.  I tell her I don't care what the f*ck she does with the next two days of her visit, that I do NOT want her back in my house or near me, my children, my LIFE ever again.   That I'm done - this is my last straw.   I tell her that she is disgusting, that I am done trying, that after everything I have been through with her I cannot believe she would do this to ME.   She doesn't even try to deny, doesn't apologize, nothing.   I say goodbye and I give my brother the phone.  He basically says the exact same thing but lays into her about robbing her own sister and having the balls to involve HIM in it.   So, we're both done.   I've deleted her off of my FB account, I've blocked her, I am done.   There is NO coming back from this.   She didn't just rob from me, she stole from my FAMILY.   I can take hurt feelings, I can take when you do something to ME and recover.   But when you f*ck with my children?!  Oh no, you can go f*ck yourself now.   As I was asking some of my close friends to unfriend her on FB (because I don't want her having ANY access to me) they told me she spent the rest of her trip posting pics of her and Amanda captioning them with lovely things such as "Best trip home ever" and the like.   That's AMAZING.  You just lost what little family you had and that is how you react.  Good for you you f*cking psycho.  Game.  Over.   Enjoy the rest of your life alone.  I hope the $274 was worth it.

Next.........Jan 5th, first day back to work after a fantastic (except for that little debacle with my sister) THREE weeks of vacation.  I work a 13 hour day and then I head home.   Only to get into a frigging car accident.   My first EVER.   OMG.   I couldn't even believe it.   I got t-boned in a rotary.   Un-frigging-believable.   It took two weeks to get the car appraised and get the money ($4K worth of damage!) and now my poor car is in the shop.  I'll hopefully have it back by this Saturday and I'm PRAYING there are no ill side effects from the accident.   I love that car.   As for me - oh, you know - just a little whiplash.   I'm in PT for that now too - just add it to the list.   

So, that, THAT, my friends is why 2015 better just move on up from here on out.   If bad things come in 3's, I'm more than happy to have gotten mine over from the jump.  Please and thank you!

Wednesday, November 19, 2014

What do you think? Could YOU do it?

Last night at dinner, Aidan thought he'd be all slick and throw me a challenge.   
"MOM!  I challenge you to a full day with NO electronics!  Do you think you could do it?!"

I say hell yes, Aidan, bring it on.   I really could.  I could pack up my phone, put away my iPad, turn off the computer, the tv, the iPod, all of it.   It really wouldn't be an issue for me at all.   At first Erynn starts squealing and saying nononononono!   I laugh at her.  Really girl?  It's only 24 hours.  Give me a break.   I'm serious.  24 hours with no electronics is NOT that big of a deal.  Get outside.   Pick up a book.   It would really be a non-issue for me at all.   However, I do love that he threw in my face "Mom, that means NO PICTURES of us for a whole day!"  Love that boy - yes, he tossed out that I take too many pictures.   Well, he'll appreciate it one day, trust and believe.

So, Erynn turns it around and says "Okay I accept your challenge."   Now it's Aidan, Erynn and myself that are all for it.   Then we look down the other end of the table.   Ryan and John are standing firmly against it.  FIRM.  Nope.  They will not give in.   Heads shaking back and forth with a vengeance.  Ryan looks like we've asked him to cut off his right arm.   John actually looks the same.  God forbid either one of them go without tv or an iPad.  John is on his phone 24/7.   You all joke and think I'm bad?  I got off of FB for 3 wks with no issue at all.   I was shooting for a month but gave in early because it was my friends birthday and her hubby was giving me a hard time.  So I did give in early.   But I VERY happily offered to go off and start again for a full month but was met with VERY loud arguments that I should not.   So I haven't.   But I have definitely cut back my time on FB.  And I'm enjoying it.  I do not need electronics to get through my day.   I really want to do this little experiment.  Why the hell not?   Is it THAT big of a deal to go without for a day?   Have an "old fashioned" day as Aidan said last night?   (which cracked me right up because think about it.  How far back do you really need to go?  LOL)

So, I ask.  Could YOU do it?  Could you put down that phone, computer, iPad/Pod/whatever.  Could you back away from all of it for an entire day?   What think?  Give it a shot and get back to me!   I'll be blogging about our day when I make it happen........because it's going to happen!  

Wednesday, November 5, 2014

Trick or Treat!

Ahhh, Halloween.  Where people can act the fool and get away with it.  Blaming it on a holiday and thinking we all don't know any better.  I see you.  I know the truth.  Nah, I'm just kidding.   

I admit it.  I was one of those people for a hot minute.  I thought I'd be cool and get all suited up in Ryan's football gear.  Not thinking for even a minute that the stuff would actually fit me.  GTF out of here, whaddaya know - IT FIT!   Pads and all.  Now I really wanted to parade myself around town with a sign on my ass saying "YES, THIS IS MY EIGHT YEAR OLD'S GEAR I'M WEARING ON MY 37 YEAR OLD BODY!!!"  But I didn't.  Truth be told, I think they have lead lining those football helmets because after about 5 min in it (long enough for me to get photographic proof that yes, I was doing the damn thing HA!) I had a headache and legit had to take some Aleve to make it go away LOL!!!   However, now I know why those poor kids look like bobble heads running up and down the field!  


Every year we go out Trick or Treating with our friends, the W Family.  It's tradition.  They used to live down the street, but they sold their house this year and now they live on the other side of town.  Sad, but at least our tradition continues on!  Their little boy, S, idolizes Ryan.  It's SO stinking cute.  This year they ended up with the same costume.  It was hysterical.  They were doing this little dance and singing "we wag our tail back and forth."   Adorable. Below is the kids all lined up ready to go.  I tried to drag it out as much as possible because it just doesn't seem right to be going out when it's still light out but TOT ran from 4-8p this year and we could only hold the kids off for so long.


The loot.  OMG how disgusting is this?  Between my three kids they scored 622 pieces of candy.  Yes, we counted.  146 pieces of it I threw away because it was the stuff I won't let my kids eat.  Gummy type candies, sugar sticks, lollipops, that kind of thing.  But the rest of it they scooped up and had to put into 2.5 Target shopping bags.  NO, I will not let my kids eat it all. I've already started taking it into work.   No kid needs to eat all of that candy.  Gross.  But, it was a major haul needless to say.  There just didn't seem to be as many kids out this year.
 


Hope you all had a great Halloween!

Wednesday, October 29, 2014

Kiddo update!

Aidan has finally found his niche in the sports world!  He started Fall Soccer this year and he absolutely LOVES it.  Check out that smile!  


Here he is with his team on picture day.  The best part is he is GOOD at it so it's such an ego boost for him.  He loves the sport, he's good at it and he fits right in.  I think this is definitely going to be it for him.  He had practice two nights a week and then practice and a game every Saturday.  That's a lot of sports time but so worth it to see the smile on his face.  After trying Baseball and Basketball and not wanting to keep doing them I'm so glad he found something he loves.  Now he's just deciding if he wants to do Spring and Fall.......he's going to have to get on that soon because try outs are next week!
 

And then this happened.  Aidan fell on the playground at school and he sprained his knee.  So that put him out of soccer for three weeks.  We're hoping he'll be able to play tomorrow and then for the last game on Saturday.  Fingers crossed!  Now, before you even say it.  There is NO bad knee juju in this house......so don't even go there!  It didn't happen at home, you hear me!  It happened on the playground....could have happened to anyone!  LOL




Ryan started Football in August and let me just tell you what a TIMESUCK that is!  OMG!! Practice 4-5 nights a week and then the games are on top of that.  Holy hell what a commitment.  JC I wasn't even ready for it.  In the beginning it wasn't so bad b/c it was so close to my surgery that I was working from home.  But once I went back into Boston I missed a lot of the practices.  They started at 4:30p and most days I don't even leave the office until after 5p.  Then add the commute and forget it.  John had to bring him but that wasn't hard b/c John works nights AND he ended up having to be a coach so he had to be there anyway.   So, Football.  Ryan LOVED it!!!   He played his last game this past weekend and I'm sure he'll be back next year.  This past game was amazing.  We crushed the other team - 22-0 AND Ryan scored his very first touchdown.  What a GREAT ending to an amazing season.  My kid is a baller.  I love it.  He chose Gronk's number and he should get to keep it his entire career.   Now it's Fall/Winter and Ryan will start Basketball.  








Erynn started Fall Soccer as well and LOVED it.  Like her big brother, she was really good at it too.  She's definitely going to play next year but hasn't decided about Spring Soccer yet.  The urgency isn't there for her as she won't have to try out if she does decide to play.  Tryouts are only for the older kids.  She is playing Basketball like Ryan.  I'm officially the Mom whose life revolves around her kids and their sports.  How did this happen??  ;-)





Orrrr, Erynn will be the first girl on the boys soccer team.  This is how we do in the Foley house.  One night when making dinner we decided to put on Ryan's football shirts.  She got in FULL GEAR and suited up.  I was just excited that my 8 year old's shirt fit on my 37 year old body!  LMAO!!!

In school all three kids are doing great.  They got their first semester mid-term reports and we're really happy with all three!!  I'm still at the school every Friday copying for Aidan AND Ryan's teachers.  What a treat that is.....I'm there for at least 2 hours and the LEAST amount of paper I've gone through so far is 7 reams.  I feel like I need to go to confession after as I'm single handedly killing forests all on my own now!  But, the teachers tell me every week how much they appreciate it and seeing the boys' faces light up when I walk into the room makes it all worth it.  They love having me in there so, as long as they need me (and as long as my job permits me to keep the compressed work week!) I'll be there.  

Longest break ever!

How the hell do I come back after 3 months of not blogging?   JC.  I don't even know where to start.  It was a busy / hellish / long 3 months.  I feel like I should do a separate post for each kid.  So I will because this is my blog and I can.

Okay, let's get this party started.......I had my surgery on July 25th.  It was the worst pain I've ever felt in my entire life.  I was so ashamed of myself, I can't even lie.  I've had surgeries........(here's the TMI but this is my blog and you'll just have to flipping deal with it HA!) two separate breast surgeries to remove 5 tumors, 3 children (one where the epidural never kicked in), a needle biopsy they had to do 3 times to get what they needed and a partial hysterectomy that couldn't be done laproscopically so I have a full on 6in c-section scar.  Plus one other surgery that I really won't make you hear about b/c it's even too TMI for me.   I was so NOT prepared for the amount of pain I got from an effing KNEE.   RUKIDDING ME?!  I felt like the damn thing had been amputated.  It was ridiculous.  Then there was the humiliation.  I couldn't even go to the bathroom without getting help because I couldn't get out of bed.  It was horrible.  Talk about humbling.  I never want to go through anything like that again.   It's still not over.  Three months later and I'm just starting to go up / down stairs the regular way, I'm in Physical Therapy 2x a week and I'm still not able to do a lot of things that I absolutely took for granted.  I will get random sharp, shooting pains through my kneecap, a burning sensation through my scar and my knee will lock up and then release with a huge POP sound that other people can hear.  But, I keep reminding myself that I am ONLY three months out from surgery.  PT and my surgeon keep telling me how amazed they are with my progress, how they see some people that still can't even bend their knee all the way like I am more than capable of doing at this point.  Yesterday I wore my first pair of heels since JUNE!   Now that, my friends, was a major milestone for me.  I am a HUGE fan of heels.  Not wearing them for the past four months has almost killed me.  (yes, dramatic, I admit but again, this is my blog)  I wasn't able to wear my absolute favorite pair of wedges all summer and I wanted to cry.  But, drama aside, I made it through.   Now we're into fall which brings dresses and knee high boots.  So, like I said, yesterday I put on my first pair of heels.  I had PT and an ortho check up and they were both happy and impressed to see I was pulling off the boots so progress is progress and I'll just keep swimming!

Work.  Well, this has been a banner month.  I found out that my entire team is being packed up and shipped to Geneva.  You might say YAY!  That's amazing, what a great life experience!!  I would absolutely, 100% agree with you.  (and hell yes, we would have moved!!)  IF I were eligible to go.  But, alas, I am too far down on that totem pole to be considered to relo.   So, I'm stuck with no job.  Displaced as they say.  But, on the upside, I was told that I am "top rated" and they will not let top rated people leave.  So, it looks like I will get *some* kind of job.  Just not sure what that will be.   I'm VERY realistic though and I'm 99% sure it's going to be a demotion b/c there just aren't any EA positions open on our campus.  That's just the reality.  Reality sucks b/c I've been there for 14 years and it took me all that time to get to EA.   However, I won't give up and when an EA role does open, I'll go for it.  As long as I land on my feet then that's all that matters, right?  Starting over somewhere else after all this time would be my nightmare.

Home.  Kids are awesome.  Absolute lights of my life and my reason for being.  Like I said, I'm going to post separately about them b/c they have so much going on.  They keep me going every single day.  John and I are having growing pains right now.  I don't know how else to put it.  We've been really lucky the last 13 years b/c we've never had any real issues.  That's a blessing.  No marriage is perfect, including ours, that is 100% true.  Everyone has their issues, including us.  But we've never had any real issues.  I guess now it's our turn?  I don't know.  That's all I'm really going to say about that though b/c even though this is my blog I'm still not one to blast my business all over the place.  Everything happens for a reason and I'm confident that no matter what everything will work out however it's supposed to.  

Friends/Life.  Surgery was a real eye opener for me.  I had people checking in on me every.single.day that I didn't expect it from and people that I thought for sure I would hear from never checked in.  Now I am NOT a drama queen at all, not in the least. I don't expect ANYONE to stop for me.  EVER.  That's just not how I live at all and anyone who knows me, knows this.  If we make plans and you need to canx last min, shit happens honey, it's okay.  And I won't hold a grudge!  Now I know I did not have heart surgery, I had knee surgery.   But I still had surgery.   A text message, a FB note, a phone call, vm, anything would have been appropriate.  I"m  not looking for your undivided attention.  Hell no and I would have hated it.   But just a simple checking on you would have been okay.  I was shocked when I didn't hear anything at all from some.  But then random coworkers that I NEVER expected to hear from were texting me!  WHAT?!   I got flowers from people I never would have expected them from.  It was like some crazy, upside down/backwards day.   But, it is what it is.  You learn things, you take them in and you move on.   That's just all you can do.  I've made some new friends and had some new connections that have amazed me.   Like instant, soulmate type stuff which is crazy to me.  We went to a football fundraiser a couple of months ago and I randomly made a comment to this woman that was standing next to me and now we're hanging out with her, her husband and their kids multiple times a month.  We have SO much in common with them - instant click.  The funniest part - their kids weren't even playing football.  They just went to the fundraiser b/c friends of theirs told them they should go b/c it would be fun.  How crazy is that?  See, everything happens for a reason.  

So, I guess that's my update in a very long rant.  The gist of it anyway.  There's always more but who has time for that ish?   ;-)

Wednesday, July 23, 2014

Holy shit, this is me!!!!!

A friend shared this on FB (where else would we find anything these days if it weren't for FB or Pinterest???) and it makes total sense to me!!  Absolute, 100% total sense.  I feel like someone captured me on paper and wrote me up in a nice, neat little list.  Clearly there are more facets to me - please - like I'm just that easy to write up.  But, seriously, this is me!
This… this is my soul song, people.
1.  You're not anti-social, you're selectively social.  

2. At any given point, you have one (maybe two) best friends who are your entire life. You’re not a “group of friends” person. You can’t keep up with all that.
(this part isn't completely true.  I do have groups of friends but not all that I see on the regular.  But maybe this isn't what they are saying??  Maybe they are talking about a person or a couple of people that I stick with day in and day out?  If that is the case  - YUP, STILL ME!)

3. Social gatherings that are supposed to be “rites of passage” like prom and dances and other such typical nonsense is just… not for you. You don’t understand it. You want nothing to do with it.

4. When you do choose to grace a party with your presence, you are the life of it. You’re dancing on the table and doing body shots until 3 a.m.

5. … You then retreat into three days of complete solitude to recover.

6. You go out of your way to avoid people, but when you inevitably have to interact with them, you make it seem like there’s nothing in the world you’d rather be doing.

7. Dating is weird, because you’re smiling and laughing and talkative at dinner, and then you don’t want to answer their texts for four days, because like, you just want to be left alone…

8. You’re accused of being flirty with everybody, which is hilarious, because in reality, you can only tolerate like four people.

9. You retain an air of mysteriousness about you, completely unintentionally. (There’s no mystery. You just feel no need to update the social sphere on what’s going on in your life every two hours.)

10. Not to mention the fact that you either have days in which you’re tweeting and status updating every five minutes… or you delete your accounts for a month.
(Hello, blog much? I'll go weeks at a time keeping up and then you won't hear from me for a mont
h!  LOL)

11. You become unintentionally awkward because you at once feel the need to be a social life jacket for other people, though you’re just as uncomfortable yourself.

12. You’ve never really understood the whole “introvert vs. extrovert” dichotomy (can we call it that?) Because you’re… both…

13. You’re always thrown into the ringer because people think you’re best suited to be the one who gives the presentation, confronts the boss, gives the speech, etc. Meanwhile, you’re practically throwing up over the thought of it.

14. You ebb and flow between wanting to be noticed for your hard work, reveling in the attention and achievement you receive, to sinking and panicking over the thought of somebody else paying more than 30 seconds of attention to you.

15. The entirety of your being is a conundrum, so needless to say, indecisiveness is your Achilles’ Heel.

16. You’re at your happiest in places like coffee shops and cafés: surrounded by people, but still closed off and keeping to yourself.

17. You prefer to travel alone, but meet up with people once you’re there.

18. It’s taken you years to figure out that you’re shy. Literal years. And when you tell people, even your closest family members, that you’re “actually just shy” they pause, and then their eyes go big, and they go: “Oh my god you so are.”

Wednesday, June 25, 2014

Falling apart and a fabulous new accessory

It's official.

I'm falling apart.  Or snapping, tearing, stretching, whatever.  It's all the same isn't it?  I refuse to say I'm getting old because you are only as old as you feel and I don't feel old most days.  

Until last weekend.  (well, a week and a half almost)

I'm tickling my middle......Ryan.  Yes people, I said tickling.  Who knew that laughing and tickling your son could be such a dangerous thing to do!!  Watch out people!   So, I'm tickling, he's trying to escape, he slides over juuuuust ride and BAM!   My knee pops out.  But it doesn't pop back in.  Oh no, it's not going to be that easy.  I pick him up, lightly toss him over to my left and I start yelling.  Not at the top of my lungs but my voice is most definitely raised.  I'm yelling for my husband and I'm telling him that my knee is out.  I am absolutely in agonizing pain.  I look down and you can quite clearly see, through my jeans, that my knee is out to the side of my left leg to the point that my jeans are completely distorted.  John is telling me he's calling 911.   Now, not my finest moment but I yell NO!  We can't afford the $600 ambulance bill!   He says what do you want me to do???   I tell him I'm going to try and fix it.   No, not because I'm a badass.  But because this isn't my first rodeo.   This is the 5th time I've dislocated this particular knee.  To be fair, it's been 8 years since the last time.   Also, I might as well say the last time I landed in the ER and I came out with a hip to thigh immobilizer along with Physical Therapy for 8 weeks.  But I'm keeping it honest here.   So, as I said, I've been down this road before.  So I bend my knee (screaming) and I kick my leg out.   Damnit.   This knee isn't going ANYWHERE and it now feels like someone is jabbing a white hot poker through my kneecap.   Shitshitshit.   I try to shimmy myself down off the couch.  Agony.  Yup, we're calling the ambulance.  

It literally takes them about 4 min to get there.  They assess the situation.  I'm sobbing, although trying to keep it together because I don't want to scare my kids.  They don't see me cry.  Ryan is crying and holding on to his teddy bear for dear life because of course he feels responsible.   EMT's have to cut off my jeans.  (this is noteworthy b/c of course they are my "skinny" days jeans and my favorite pair to boot.  Effers.)   They strap my knee into an immobilizer, put me on a body board to get me out the door and then they put me on a stretcher.  Into the ambulance and off to the ER I go.

At the ER they load me up with Morphine and get me comfortable.   My knee gets put back in place.  I get xrays.  Nothing is broken.   Well, thank God for that - imagine the strength of my son's booty if he BROKE a bone?  Oh my.   I'm given the immobilizer, two prescriptions and the number for an Orthopedic surgeon to follow up with on Monday because the Dr that saw me in the ER listened to my history and told me that, unfortunately, he thinks I'm going to have to have surgery.   Super.

Fast forward to Ortho on Thursday.  He examines my knee, is poking, prodding, pulling at it.  He looks at my knees side by side and tells me that my left knee isn't even located where it should be on my leg anymore.   Me, being the wiseass that I am, look down and tell him it looks okay to me.   He laughs.  I say but, then again, I'm not the one who went to school for this.  He laughs again.   He said I like your style.  I said hey, if you can't laugh it's a pretty sad life.   He starts manipulating my knee again and I started to tense up.  He asked if it hurt and I said it does but you're freaking me out right now because I'm feeling like it's going to dislocate again.  He said oh yeah, I could pull it out right now if I wanted to.   I said please don't!!   He said he thinks I've torn my PCL but the MRI will confirm.  He said I don't want to ruin your day.  I said I'm a straightshooter, just tell me.  He's 99.9% sure that I'm going to need surgery.   I said look, I'm 37 years old and I have 3 young children.  I want and need to be able to play with them.  I'm not 90, I have a long life in front of me.  Let's just do this.   He said I love it!   Let's get you  your MRI, get the results to confirm what I already know and get this done.  I said great - laproscopic, right?    Then he crushed my world to shit.  Ohhhhhhh.....no.   Um, say what now?   No, no laproscopic for you.   With this kind of injury and the placement of your patella there is just too much to do.  We're going to need to make a 3-4 in incision "here," we're going to drill two holes into your bones "here," and we're going to cut the muscles on the other side of your patella "here" that are pulling too tightly and causing your patella to dislocate so easily.   Well alrighty then.   

So, there you have it.  When everything is all said and done though I'm going to have some kick ass battle scars to show and a knee that will never pop out again!   There's something to be said for chicks with scars.   They're hardcore!!  ;-)

Annnnnd - my new fabulous accessory!   I'll have this bad boy until the end of the summer.   My kids think I look like a robot or a bionic woman.  I'll take it!  (silver linings here people, it's all about perspective - right?)



Obsessed you say???

It might be true.

We might have a slight camping obsession when my middle child requests it as his birthday party theme!  LOL!!!  But boy oh boy did I have fun with this one.   I love letting my kiddos pic the theme for their birthday parties.  Wait.  Let me correct that.  I love letting my kiddos pic the theme for their birthday parties and Pinterest has a multitude of things to pic from!   As soon as that theme is picked, Mommy goes crazy.  I start googling, pinning, ordering, buying in stores, you name it.   I love it.  I'll do anything to make my kids happy.     

So, Ryan's 8th Birthday was May 26th.  Yup, Mommy screwed the pooch on that one.  Memorial Day weekend?   Great job.   Yeah, yeah, it's not like I did it on purpose.  The little bugger was 6 days late.  Not my fault.  But I can't have his birthday party on a holiday weekend so we had his party on June 8th instead.  I typically don't do Sunday parties ever.   For me, Sundays are for family time and relaxing.  Just spending the day together.  Whether it's a jama day if it's not nice out or a beach trip or whatever.   I normally don't want to spend the last day of my weekend running around like a maniac and hosting 20-30 children.  Not my idea of a relaxing before I go back to work.   I know, call me crazy.   BUT, Ryan's Godfather works for the postal office and the only day they are closed is Sunday so there we go.

Anyway, camping.  Ryan said that's what he wanted and that is what Ryan got.  I went on Pinterest immediately.  I found some great ideas for the cake and free printable labels and signs.  I found an awesome t-shirt on Etsy along with rock candy sprinkles I needed to finish off the cake correctly.   Scrolling through some other similar parties helped me build other ideas off of what I could serve.   The kids all loved what we had and the adults thought I was amazing/crazy.  I can't lie - it feels nice to get the kudos.   But that's why we do it, isn't it?   Yes, we do it for the kids - absolutely!   But it's nice sometimes to show that we CAN do it all.  Especially on the days that we feel like we're barely hanging on by a thread!   Then you have that GREAT day and you realize that you have those rockstar moments and they carry you through.  It's a great feeling.   

Okay, okay.  Let me get to the pics........isn't that what blogs are for anyway?  Aside from me running my mouth!  This was one of my favorite parties.  Enjoy!

Welcome sign at end of driveway
The Birthday Boy!

Some of the food - we had "Fish n Rods, Campfire Flames, Woodland Fruits n Berries, Cold Worm Salad and Bug Juice"

Kids lining up for Bug Juice

Campfire Cake and Cupcakes

Campfire Cupcakes


That smile, right there........yeah, that says it all

S'mores Party Favors

Most of the kids that attended

Total Pageviews